← All states
ND
North Dakota
Residential assisted living licensing rules and official state resources
- Licensure term
- Basic Care Facility / Assisted Living Facility
- Resident capacity
- 5+ living units (No maximum stated on the state level) - check with individual city
- Staff ratios
- Not stated but must be sufficient to handle residents needs at all times
- Cost of licensing
- $75 Annual fee
- Bedroom square footage
- A minimum of 15 sq ft per licensed bed in the dining area
- Memory care
- https://www.hhs.nd.gov/adults-and-aging/assisted-living
Full requirements
- Regulatory Agency ALF
- North Dakota Department of Human Services
- Contact Phone Number ALF
- 701-328-2321 (Melanie Phillips, Administrator, Long Term Care Continuum)
- Regulatory Agency Basic Care
- North Dakota Department of Health
- Contact Phone # Basic Care
- 701.328.2352 (Dr. Darleen Bartz, Chief)
- Licensure Term(s)
- Basic Care Facility / Assisted Living Facility
- Census Requirements
- 5+ living units (No maximum stated on the state level) - check with individual city
- Qualifications for Managers
- None explicitly stated - however administrators are required to have 12 hours of annual training on a-e topics (listed below under Caregivers)
- Qualifications for Caregivers
- Training requirements are not specified. However, all direct care staff are required to receive annual training on the following: a. Residents rights; b. Fire and accident prevention training; c. Mental and physical health needs of tenants; d. Behavior problems and prevention; and e. Control of infection, including universal precautions. If caregivers are preparing food, must take 2 dietary educational programs per year. If Caregivers are in charge of activities for residents, must attend 2 activity-related educational programs per year. (Basic Care facility)
- Staff Ratios
- Not stated but must be sufficient to handle residents needs at all times
- Cost of Licensing
- $75 Annual fee
- Square Footage Requirements
- A minimum of 15 sq ft per licensed bed in the dining area A minimum of 15 sq ft per licensed bed in lounge/activity space Bedrooms must have 100 sq ft for single occupancy; 80 sq ft per resident for double occupancy No more than 2 people may share a bedroom (Assisted Living Facility)
- Bathrooms Required
- No ratio stated (Basic Care facility) Private bathroom (sink, shower or tub and toilet) required per living unit (assisted living facility)
